Nutrition to eat by!

I had a brilliant idea of what to share with you to start this year off right, and I promptly forgot when I got out of the shower 😛 So you get something tasty instead!

Beef Stew!

So often beef stew is filled with fat and oil, the cheep veggies, and well, it is tasty but not always packed with nutrition. There is a very simple home made method of solving this:

Bone Broth!

Making a bone broth does not take much effort but it does take some time. When I have a chicken or turkey, I always freeze the bones. Then when I am ready to make some broth I will also pick up some beef bones from my CSA. These combined with all of my veggie scraps is excellent.image2

Take a crock pot, a big one, and pile in your bones and veggie scraps (all of them: onion peels, carrot tops, green pepper seeds, broccoli bits, radish leaves, everything). I also like to keep a jar with miscellaneous older herbs that I wont use in my normal cooking. I throw in about 1/2 a cup of these herbs too. No salt or pepper though (you will see why later). Cover this pile with water and start it a simmering (lid on).

I let this sit for about 2 days, adding more water as needed. I then remove some of the liquid and freeze it. I add more bones/veg to fill the pot, pour on more water and begin the process again. 2-3 days later I remove more broth to freeze. I will do this for about 2 weeks to make sure I really get all of the good nutrients out of those foods.

The broth can be frozen in plastic bags. Lay them down on a baking sheet to freeze then stack them to save space. You can also freeze them in ice cube trays and then put these into bags as well. This takes up more space however. I like having the cubes for when I am sick and I just want to heat up some water and plop in a broth cube for a little flavor.

So now you have some broth stored up in your freezer (winter is my favorite time to make broth because it smells so nice when coming in from the cold). It is time to make some stew. Bone broth can be replaced for any broth really (unless you want it vegetarian/ vegan).

Simple Beef Stew

  • 1lb beef chunks (any part will do)image2
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 onion
  • Splash of balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 lb carrots
  • 1-2 potatoes
  • Any other vegetables you like (I like using about 1c of greens, 2 stalks of celery, 3-4 cloves of garlic)
  • 4-6c of bone broth
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Start by making sure your beef is in bit sized pieces. Brown these on all sizes with a little bit of oil (if fatty, start with the fat side). Cut onion as desired and add this to your pan/pot. This can be done while the beef is still cooking but make sure the beef still has access to the bottom of your pot. Once the meat is cooked. Splash on some balsamic vinegar to de-glaze the bottom of your pot. This pulls the juices of the meat back into the dish.

At this point, add the remaining vegetables (except greens and garlic) and allow them to slightly saute. Once they are about 1/2 way cooked add your broth. As mine is usually frozen into blocks, I just place them on top of the vegetables and allow the broth to slowly melt. Once broth is melted, I add salt and pepper to taste. I will allow this to simmer for about 30 minutes and add garlic and greens with about 10 minutes remaining. This is because they are more fragile in the heat so need less time in the pot. Finish cooking, image4allow to cool, and enjoy!

I hope you do enjoy this recipe and the bone broth as well. Remember, our updated book: A Beginner’s Guide to Wellness does contain our favorite recipes that we have not published in our blog. Also consider taking our Kitchen Medicine Class free on our website to learn more about the benefits of some of these delicious foods.

One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Very nice post, thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

