Tomato Soup for the Soul

Tomato soup was a childhood favorite of mine. With a nice grilled cheese sandwich it was a perfect meal. Now that I am an adult I take pride in not eating canned food and pre-prepared food as much as I can avoid it. This summer I wanted to grow more tomatoes to can some of them, there just weren’t enough last summer in my CSA (community supported agriculture). I have five beautiful tomato plants on my porch and I have just been eating them up with salads and sandwiches, saving one or two each day I harvest so they can ripen more. Unfortunately, they started to go bad a bit before I had enough to do any serious canning and now they are starting to not be as prolific on the plants. I decided to make some home made tomato soup earlier this week to use the tomatoes I had saved for a week or so. I am so glad that I did, it was delicious. Here is the recipe.

IngredientsTomato Soup (2)

  • About 4 cups of tomatoes, skins, seeds, and all
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil
  • 1-2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (to taste)
  • 1-2 tbsp sugar (to taste)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp flour

Start by putting the first four ingredients into a stock pot and simmer for 20 minutes or until all vegetables are tender. Throw the whole mix into a blender when it is cool enough and add your basil. I then set this aside and stirred in the heavy cream, vinegar, and sugar to taste (I didn’t need any sugar). It is alright if it is still very thin at this point. The next step is to thicken it.

In your stock pot, melt the butter and gently whisk in the flour on low to medium heat. This is to make a roue. As the butter gets hotter the liquid will turn a medium brown color.

At this point pour in about 1/3 of your soup and whisk it to prevent clumps from forming. It will oddly get thicker before it will get thinner again. When you are sure there are no clumps, pour in the rest of the soup and mix. You can also choose to then add salt and pepper to taste but I did not think it was necessary.

I hope you enjoy this delicious soup.

Leave a Reply

