Your Body, Your Wellness (part 2)

Did you have a chance to start journaling last week? If not, start with something simple in learning about your body. Some good ideas are observing your skin changes, your teeth, your tongue, your hands/nails, or your hair quality, color, texture. I like these ideas because for most of us we are already experienced at looking at ourselves. The hard part becomes observing our bodies without judgement. Were you able to do that last week? Let’s try a different approach.

As an example, let’s look at our hair. I might wake up in the morning and look at my hair in the mirror and say ‘ug, it’s a mess!’ Now this is not what I write down because I am judging my hair. I write down that it is tangled on the bottom but not the top and that it is a dry looking. The next day I write down that it is a straight and wet/oily looking near my roots. Studying my hair, I decide to not wash it just to see what happens and on day 3 I notice that my hair is really straight and smooth with no tangles, just the way I like it with product in it.

Now I am not saying that I shouldn’t wash my hair. What I am saying is that I now know that when I wash my hair with less frequency I have noticed that it is smoother, straighter, and less tangled. So I try it again for 3 days with not washing my hair. This time I notice that on days 2 and 3 it is straight and smooth, day 1 wasn’t even tangled. How would I have learned that if I reduce washing my hair to every 2-3 days that it would look more like I like it and over time break less often if I did not experiment with different options. I don’t even need hair products now and it looks the way I like it and it is healthier!

This is a simple thing that we often just pass over, learning about our hair and how it changes with different washing patterns. This is how all of our body is. How does our digestion change with walking 30 minutes a day? How does our sleep change with eating different foods? All of these curious questions we never ask ourselves we can experiment with our own body to find ways we enjoy living that we may not have explored before.

When you start doing these more challenging observations, the ones that require your senses other than sight, practice using all of your senses when appropriate to describe your body experience. Be exploitative. Does your leg muscle hurt? Well what does it feel like with your own hand, not just from inside? How does it feel when you touch it, massage it, apply hot or cold. Do your joints make noise when you use that muscle? Is the color in that area different than normal? For this observation you are using 2 different kinds of feelings as well as sound and visual changes to the area.

We have been talking mostly here so far about your physical body but our mental and emotional body can also change in these same kinds of circumstances. Personally, I know that I get sad, depressed, and sometimes even angry when I eat wheat. How can a food effect my personality like that? I don’t know but it is relatively common for wheat to affect individuals this way. Are there foods that effect you this way? I bet sleep does.

Start your wellness by learning about your body and see what it has to say. You may learn somethings that you did not know before that will help you feel a whole lot better in your daily life. If you are interested in additional support in finding what wellness practices work best for your body be sure to check out our Wellness 101 Workbook and sign up for our newsletter for a copy of the first chapter FREE.

Leave a Reply

