Going Vegetarian, 2 weeks in

I have now been vegetarian for two weeks and there was only one day that I almost forgot. That sounds like a win to me.

The largest challenge I have found so far with this is that it is near to impossible to be both vegetarian and gluten free if you are eating prepared foods. For the most part I prepare my own foods but I don’t always bake my own breads and some nights I just want a gf microwave meal. Well, finding vegetarian prepared foods was not hard but they always had gluten in them. Once I got these lovely veggie burgers for dinner and half way through cooking read the package had wheat in them. Ok so next time I make my own veggie burgers, got it. I cant imagine trying to be vegan and gluten free. That would be even harder.

My partner and I did decide that we could eat fish this month and I am quite glad that I was able to do that. My first week I was traveling. I figured it would be easier to start this new pattern if I was doing it in a new place at the same time. Being on the western coast of Florida I had all the lovely fish I could want.

image4
I had the chance to try a new fish I hadn’t had before, cobia. It was lovely, not to mention the plating of the dish was beyond gorgeous. I am not generally one for taking photos of my food but this was lovely and after I took the photo I decided to take more of my favorite dishes while I am vegetarian. This fish was on a squash risotto, gluten free, with saute’d spinach and topped with a walnut pesto and a cranberry rum sauce. This was probably one of the best fish dishes I have ever had when eating out and I would defiantly try it again. Oh and this was at the Rum Fish Grill in St. Petersburg, FL if you are ever down there. image5

I was able to have one other really amazing fish dish in St. Pete’s but I already lost the name of the place, sorry. This dish was basically deconstructed sushi on top of brown rice. This lovely raw tuna was just what I wanted with a mild wasabi sauce. MMM so tasty. My mouth is watering thinking about it again.

I don’t have raw fish often but I have found over the past few months that I really like how my body feels after I have had a meal like this of good vegetables, brown rice, and spiced raw fish. It is not something I generally see in Maryland but when I do it will be a choice I go towards. I have learned to listen to what my body has to say about the food.

image3

After being in St. Petes I went to Orlando for my conference and I was lucky enough to have a hotel room with a full kitchen. I was able to save myself the money of eating out and cook for myself which made it easier to be vegetarian. I was trying to have more vegetables and I started making this same salad over and over again. It was just what image2my body wanted that week. It is romaine lettuce, cranberries, pecans, herb goat cheese, and a balsamic vinaigrette. It was so lovely I am planning on having it again today after I finish typing this up. I have really been drawn to goat cheese the past two weeks and I am not sure why. Maybe it is higher in some nutrient I am not getting from meat.

When I got home I was able to get back to cooking my own meals but I also went out for a lovely pizza dinner one night. Pesto pizza, goat cheese, onions, portabellas, and roasted tomatoes. I have been feeling great and am excited to keep doing this another two weeks. Be sure to subscribe to get my final check in in two weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

