Wellness Restart

e5f453_8b0e8e62a87f40cea908144f404db30aWith a new determination to post twice a week, Tuesday for herbs and Thursday for wellness, I paused to take a look at my own wellness. After writing my Wellness 101 Workbook in the spring of 2015 I was right on board. Exercising the way I wanted, eating well, sleeping well. Well, I am not doing great right now.

I’ll admit it, I am a personal trainer that is not in shape. It has been a long time since I thought I was in shape for a significant amount of time but I was getting back on track last summer and fall. This winter has shown me that I am quite attached to the outdoor nature of my movement habits. I am taking this week to re-boot.

I am traveling right now to a personal trainer conference and I am going to take this opportunity to get outside and get my exercise in. Being in a lovely environment, south of where I normally am, will be a great opportunity to inspire me to get going when I get home where it is cooler still.

My nutrition has also been crazy. I am telling everyone here that I have a commitment to being vegetarian for the month of April. I am starting TODAY! I am not choosing to be vegetarian for ethical reasons, I always purchase ethically raised animal products from local farmers whenever I can. I am choosing to be vegetarian for a time to re-set my body and bring back in my techniques of getting protein and nutrients that are generally more healthy.

I used to have lots of beans and sprouted grains for protein and supplement that with meat but recently that has not been the case. I have also noticed myself having more sugar and while I am not focusing on that yet, I will be moving towards removing sugar for a time to also re-set my body to a healthier state that will be more stable.

e5f453_fd60ff0bea3d4c218ebbef33dee257c9I am not doing this as a diet because I know that I am not reducing calories, fat, or anything else someone might be ‘dieting’ to reduce. I am focusing on eating high nutrient plants to give my body more energy with the vitamins and minerals that I feel that I have been lacking with having animal protein rather than a higher amount of protein that I will need from plant proteins for my same energy needs.

I will keep you all updated as I work on increasing my exercise and go vegetarian for a month. I am starting, while traveling, on including more sprouts, nuts, and lentils in my diet. Most of my meals this week will be in a hotel room and some of them will have stoves and ovens but not all. I was able to make a salad with lots of sprouts and nuts today and for the evening I was able to purchase a vegan split pea soup, Dr. McDougall’s Right Foods Vegan Split Pea Soup Gluten Free, 2.5-Ounce Cups (Pack of 6). I have had this quick soup before and I love it because it has 16g of protein in 1, 260 calorie serving. If I want a high protein, vegetarian microwave soup that is also gluten free, this is the one I will always go for.

Be sure to visit www.thedancingherbalist.com for more about Jillian Carnrick and The Dancing Herbalist. Also be sure to sign up to receive our FREE Monthly Wellness Newsletter.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

